Skip to content

Motivators.finding and understanding

November 25, 2011

It is believed by many that people try and work hard in order to receive tangible rewards or pay-offs such as salary, security, seniority. Thad Green, Author of Motivation Management: Fueling Performance by Discovering What People Believe About Themselves and Their Organizations, discussing how there are key motivators that are hidden within each employee that help in creating that drive that leads employees to be more motivated in the workplace. A point Thad makes is that most employees are motivated by what they believe will actually happen despite of what you as a manager tell them will happen. The idea of motivating your employees by telling them good will happen becomes lost within the trust/communication relationship between managers and their employees. Thad discusses how manages must “cement the connection between positive performance and predictable rewards in the minds of your employees.”

            The key in Thad’s discussion is “in the minds of your employees”. Finding ways to actually understand your employee’s needs are half the battle. In this book, Thad has an entire section on questions that you as managers may ask your employees in order to find a more suitable way to motivate them. Some questions seem redundant and obvious; but they are a necessity in order to really understand how your employees feel about the company, about themselves, and about their motivation to do work.  

Here are some motivating factors to take into considerations when trying to improve the overall moral or performance of your customers. Links to actual resource avaiable.

Understanding the key elements of motivation and the modern manager undergirds the structure of your organization enabling you to attract and retain talented players.

There may be a bewildering amount of information on motivation directed at the modern manager. But in essence, motivation is about human behaviour and to discover some of its key elements, it’s good to begin in the homeland of motivation…psychology.

People are different. Someone who is motivated by money alone might not be impressed with time off work, but some are opposite. They value their own time so highly that it can often take the place of money as a motivator. What works for one person might not work for another. 

It is not only important to understand what motivates our employees. But it is also important for them to understand what motivates them. Creating a questionairre may be a good way to help yourself and your employees measure their motivation levels

Here are some example categories


Team Work

I enjoy coming to work partly because of the people

I get support and encouragement from my team mates

I do not have to compete unfairly with the rest of the team

Big Picture

I can sum up in a sentence the core values of my company

I know what is expected of my team

I know how my success is measured

I am proud to work for my company
Company Politics

I leave the office when my work is complete. I do not feel compelled to stay just because others are still there

I feel we are all treated fairly. I do not see or experience favouritism

I feel acknowledged publicly for my successes.

Any constructive criticism is given in private

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

